DUI Defense Attorney
Why Fight a DUI?
A DUI charge, or Driving Under the Influence, is a very serious criminal charge that could result in jail or prison time, heavy legal fees and a plethora of other problems down the road. Even if the evidence against you seems overwhelming, it is always in your best interest to fight against your DUI charges.
A DUI Attorney can help you navigate the complexities and intricacies of the legal system, which commonly favors convicting alleged criminals. The penalties for Driving Under the Influence in the State of Alabama are severe, as are the consequences for not submitting to a chemical test to determine intoxication levels.
Refusing to Submit to a Chemical Test
The State of Alabama has an implied consent law. This means that if you choose not to submit to a chemical test, your license is automatically suspended and you will be forced to pay legal fines. Refusal for first time offenders results in a 90 day license suspension, while a second or third offender’s refusal results in a 1 year license suspension.
Consequences of DUI Charges
A drunk driving arrest is not taken lightly in the State of Alabama, and a DUI charge on your record can have many negative consequences for you. Many factors are taken into account when determining an offender’s punishment for driving under the influence. These factors include:
· Whether or not this was a first offense
· The level of intoxication
· The offender’s submission or refusal to submit to a chemical test
· Damages or injury caused to others or property due to driver’s intoxication
A first time offender could potentially face imprisonment for up to 1 year as well as fines ranging from $600-$2,100. Second time offenders have a minimum required sentence of at least 5 days in jail and up to 1 year of imprisonment, with fines ranging from $1,100-$5,100. A third time offender has a mandatory imprisonment sentence of 60 days that could be increased to up to 1 year, at least 30 days of community service, and fines ranging from $2,100-$10,000. Fourth time offenders are charged with a Class C Felony and face mandatory jail time of at least 1 year, a 3 year license suspension and fines between $4,000-$10,000.
Contact DUI Defense Attorney Matthew Hornsby for your Case Today!Protect your rights by hiring aggressive DUI Defense Attorneys Bobby Hornsby or Matthew Hornsby to represent your case by calling (205) 856-1000 today.